Portal:Featured Image Of The Week

From Asylum Projects
Revision as of 01:50, 14 April 2019 by M-Explorer (talk | contribs)
Jump to: navigation, search

Featured Image Of The Week

Salemtb2.jpg
Prior to this, in 1894, construction was started on a building designated to be the Oregon State Deaf-Mute School, and was so occupied during the years of 1896 and 1897, but because of the inability to transport supplies over the nearly non-existent roads this building southeast of Salem was abandoned. After the Legislature enacted the laws for a sanatorium for treatment of the tubercular, one of the senators of that time saw this site, nestled in the foothills with available buildings, and action was taken to utilize this for the proposed Oregon State Tuberculosis Hospital.