|(26 intermediate revisions by the same user not shown)|
Prior to this, in 1894, construction was started on [[ Oregon State Tuberculosis Hospital| a building designated to be the Oregon State Deaf-Mute School]] , and was so occupied during the years of 1896 and 1897, but because of the inability to transport supplies over the nearly non-existent roads this building southeast of Salem was abandoned. After the Legislature enacted the laws for a sanatorium for treatment of the tubercular, one of the senators of that time saw this site, nestled in the foothills with available buildings, and action was taken to utilize this for the proposed Oregon State Tuberculosis Hospital. |+|
|Body= [[State Hospital|]] and the . the of the , of of , , and to .
Latest revision as of 04:36, 13 October 2019
Featured Image Of The Week
Work was begun in 1878
and the first patients received in December 1879. the plan of the institution is, in many respects, unique. It comprises a general building three stories high capable of accommodating 300 to 400 patients and a number of detached buildings, technically termed cottages, where various classes of insane patients may be grouped and receive the particular treatment best adapted to ensure their recovery.