|(92 intermediate revisions by the same user not shown)|
Salemtb2. jpg |+|
Prior to this, in 1894, construction was started on [[ Oregon State Tuberculosis Hospital| a building designated to be the Oregon State Deaf-Mute School]] , and was so occupied during the years of 1896 and 1897, but because of the inability to transport supplies over the nearly non-existent roads this building southeast of Salem was abandoned. After the Legislature enacted the laws for a sanatorium for treatment of the tubercular, one of the senators of that time saw this site, nestled in the foothills with available buildings, and action was taken to utilize this for the proposed Oregon State Tuberculosis Hospital. |+|
|Body= [[Hospital |]] the .for a of the of the of , in the , .
Revision as of 03:43, 24 January 2021
Featured Image Of The Week
The Colonial Government
bought the whole 104.5 acres as a site for a new lunatic asylum to be designed according to the enlightened views of the American Dr Thomas Kirkbride. Colonial Architect James Barnett worked in collaboration with Inspector of the Insane Dr Frederick Norton Manning to produce a group of some twenty neo-classical buildings, completed in 1885 and subsequently named the Kirkbride Block, offering progressive patient care.